Our investments

5 à Sec

Date of realisation

July 2007

Invest date

April 2001

Dry cleaning retail chain

ACTIVITY

5àSec was the world’s leading retailer in textile care services, with over 1,500 shops in 25 countries. The initial investment consisted of the global master franchise and a small portfolio of dry-cleaning outlets in France. As of December 2006, the company owned circa 200 corporate shops and operates master franchisees in 8 countries.

VALUE ADDED STEPS PLANNED

The company was strengthened by the addition of the Spanish, Swiss and Portuguese master franchises and by the purchase of more than 70 shops in France. These acquisitions formed part of a strategy to grow the business through the development of retail units in key sites and the purchase of strategic national franchises throughout Europe. In 2003, the group introduced a range of new textile treatment services and also mending services. 5àSec acquired its largest French franchisee (28 shops) in January 2006. The business was successfully sold in 2007 generating a 2.2 times money return on our original investment.

MANAGEMENT

The management team was led by Olivier Bédat CEO, who joined 5àSec in November 2001 from SGS. Olivier previously worked for Mister Minit and IBM. The group financial officer was Bart de Graaf, ex-IKEA and Habitat, who joined the group in September 2002.

5àSec adopted a regional organisational structure with country managers in France, Spain, Switzerland, Portugal, Hungary, Belgium, Luxembourg and China.

www.5asec.com

Contact us

place Luxembourg

15 rue Edward Steichen
Luxembourg L-2540 - Luxembourg
Tel. +352 621 225 802

place Geneva

47 route des Acacias
1211 Geneva, 26 - Switzerland
Tel. +41 79 128 20 44

place Brussels

523 avenue Louise
1050 Brussels - Belgium
Tel. +32 497 38 31 45

place Paris

40 rue du Colisée
75008 Paris - France
Tel. +33 6 31 30 62 23

Nos investissements

5 à Sec

Cédé en

juillet 2007

Acquis en

avril 2001

Réseau de magasin de nettoyage à sec

Investissement de

25 M€

ACTIVITÉ

5àSec est le leader mondial du pressing avec plus de 1.500 magasins dans 25 pays. L’investissement initial consistait à racheter la société détentrice de la master franchise mondiale ainsi qu’un petit portfeuille de magasins en France. En décembre 2006, après 5 années passées avec Milestone, le groupe détenait 200 magasins en propre et opérait des contrats de master franchise dans 8 pays différents.

CRÉATION DE VALEUR

Le groupe fut renforcé par le développement des master franchises espagnoles, suisses et portugaises et par l’acquisition de plus de 70 magasins en France. Ces acquisitions étaient partie intégrante d’une stratégie de croissance du groupe à travers le développement de magasins dans des zones clés et d’ouvertures ou de rachats de franchises nationales à travers l’Europe. En 2003, le groupe introduisit dans ses magasins de nouveaux services de traitement des textiles, notamment des prestations de retouches. 5àSec racheta son plus gros franchisé (28 magasins) en Janvier 2006. Le groupe a été vendu en 2007 et sa cession a généré un retour de 2.2 fois les montants investis par Milestone.

MANAGEMENT

L’équipe de management était dirigée par Olivier Bédat, qui rejoignit le groupe 5àSec en Novembre 2001, en provenance de SGS. Olivier avait travaillé précédemment chez Mister Minit et chez IBM. Le Directeur Financier du groupe, Bart de Graaf, ex-IKEA et Habitat, a rejoint 5àSec en Septembre 2002.

5àSec adpota une structure d’organisation régionale avec des responsables pays en France, Espagne, Suisse, Portugal, Hongrie, Belgique, Luxembourg et Chine.

www.5asec.com

Milestone Investisseurs Management Sarl

place Luxembourg

15 rue Edward Steichen
Luxembourg L-2540 - Luxembourg

place Genève

47 route des Acacias
Geneva CP1510 - Switzerland
Tel. +41 791 282 044

place Bruxelles

523 avenue Louise
1050 Brussels - Belgium
Tel. +32 497 38 31 45

place Paris

WeWork
40 rue du Colisée
75008 Paris, France
Tel. +33 6 08 31 99 16